International Cooperation

International Agreements

E​gypt—and the Non-proliferation Treaty

The world knew the nuclear energy in its negative form when it was used as a deadly weapon during the tragic end of the World War II.

With the realization of the danger of this weapon and its destructive impact on human and threat to the security of all mankind, the international society has worked to stop the dissemination of these weapons and to ban their production and use , then reaching after hard effort to hold the Non-proliferation Treaty (NPT) on July1, 1968 and entered into force in March 1970.

The Non-proliferation Treaty is one of the most important international treaties since the World War II , aimed at cessation of the nuclear arms race and the non- proliferation of nuclear weapons and instead working towards the use of nuclear energy for peaceful purposes for the advancement and development of the societies.

Based on the pioneering cultural role of Egypt and aware of the danger of the nuclear weapons to humanity and belief in the importance of preventing their spread , EGYPT has been one of the countries that contributed to the drafting of the treaty and one of the first countries to sign it July 1,1968 then ratified in February 1981.

The Treaty comprises substantive provisions designed in a manner that balances between the inalienable right of all parties to the treaty to use and benefit from the peaceful technology of nuclear energy and the obligations undertaken not to use it in military purposes , of the important provisions contained in the Treaty:

  • Non-nuclear- weapon States undertake not to acquire or manufacture any nuclear weapons directly or indirectly , for that purpose States party to the Treaty shall conclude an agreement under which IAEA will inspect its nuclear facilities and known as the Safeguards Agreement.
  • Parties to the treaty undertake to facilitate and encourage cooperation among them with the aim of increasing and developing the peaceful use of nuclear energy.
  • Nuclear-weapon States undertake to pursue negotiations aiming at the cessation of the nuclear arms race, and on a treaty on general and complete nuclear disarmament.
  • The Treaty guarantee that nothing in the Treaty affects the right of any group of States to conclude regional treaties in order to assure the total absence of nuclear weapons , thus enhancing peace and security at the international and regional level .
  • The Treaty stipulates that each Party to the Treaty in exercising its national sovereignty the right to withdraw from the Treaty if it decides that extraordinary events , related to the subject matter of this Treaty , have jeopardized the supreme national interests of its country.

Bilateral Agreements

Cooperation With IAEA

التعاون الدولي

الإتفاقيات الدولية

مصر .. ومعاهدة عدم الانتشار النووى​​​​

عرف العالم الطاقة النووية فى وجهها السلبى حينما استخدمت كسلاح فتاك أثناء وضع نهاية مأساوية للحرب العالمية الثانية. ومع الإدراك بخطورة هذا السلاح وأثره المدمر على الإنسان وتهديده لأمن البشرية كلها، فقد عمل المجتمع الدولى على وقف انتشار تلك الأسلحة وتحريم إنتاجها واستخدامها، وتوصل بعد جهد مضن إلى عقد معاهدة عدم انتشار الأسلحة النووية Non Proliferation Treaty (NPT) فى أول يوليو عام 1968 ودخلت حيز النفاذ فى مارس 1970.

وتعد معاهدة عدم الانتشار من أهم المعاهدات الدولية التى عقدت منذ نهاية الحرب العالمية الثانية حيث هدفت إلى وقف سباق التسلح النووى ومنع انتشار الأسلحة النووية والعمل بدلاً من ذلك نحو استخدام الطاقة النووية فى الأغراض السلمية لتنمية وتطوير المجتمعات وتحقيق رفاهية الإنسان.

وانطلاقاً من دور مصر الحضارى الرائد، وإدراكا منها بخطورة الأسلحة النووية على الإنسانية، وإيمانا منها بأهمية الحيلولة دون انتشارها، فقد كانت مصر إحدى الدول التى أسهمت فى مشاورات صياغة المعاهدة ومن أولى الدول التى وقعت عليها فى الأول من يوليو عام 1968 ثم صدقت عليها فى فبراير 1981.

وتتضمن المعاهدة أحكاما موضوعية توائم بين حق الدول غير المشروط فى الانتفاع بالتكنولوجيا السلمية للطاقة النووية وبين الالتزامات التى تتعهد بها تجاه عدم استخدامها فى أغراض عسكرية. ومن أهم أحكام المعاهدة:

  • تعهد الدول غير الحائزة للأسلحة النووية بألا تصنع أو تحصل على أى أسلحة نووية سواء بطريقة مباشرة أو غير مباشرة. ولتحقيق هذا الغرض، تقوم تلك الدول بتوقيع اتفاقية مع الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية للتفتيش على منشآتها النووية تعرف باسم اتفاقية الضمانات.
  • تعهد الدول الأطراف بالمعاهدة بتسهيل وتشجيع التعاون فيما بينها بهدف زيادة وإنماء الاستخدامات السلمية للطاقة النووية، ولا يستثنى من ذلك أنشطة إثراء اليورانيوم أو إعادة معالجة البلوتونيوم.
  • أقرت المعاهدة بحق أى مجموعة من الدول فى عقد معاهدات إقليمية لخلو مناطقها من أى أسلحة نووية بما يعزز السلم والأمن على الصعيدين الدولى والإقليمى.
  • تعهدت الدول الحائزة على الأسلحة النووية بمواصلة المفاوضات بهدف وقف سباق التسلح النووى وعقد معاهدة بشأن نزع سلاحها النووى.
  • كفلت المعاهدة لكل الدول الأطراف، فى إطار ممارسة سيادتها الوطنية، حق الانسحاب من المعاهدة إذا رأت أن أحداثا ذات صلة بموضوع المعاهدة قد أضرت بمصالحها القومية.

الإتفاقيات الثنائية

التعاون مع الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية